UNIVERSITY SENATE.

At a meeting of the University Senate, the following degrees were conferred in absentia:-Bachelor of Surgery (B.S.). Stanley Devenish Meares: Master of Surgery (Ch.M.), George Henry Hewitt, M.B., and Charles P. A. de Monchaux, M.B.

The diploma in psychiatry was awarded to John A. H. McGeorge, M.B., Ch.M., Garnet A. Ross, M.B., and Horace Layton Spearman, M.B., Oh.M.

Peter Nicol Russell medals for 1932 were awarded to Mr. C. T. Omodel, B.E., and Mr. P. L. Henderson, B.E.

The Busby musical scholarship for 1932 was awarded to Mr. J. Lindsay Gordon, a third-year student in the Faculty of Arts.

A suggestion from the Musical Association of New South Wales that consideration be given to the possibility of establishing a chair of music or a lectureship in music, and the inclusion of music as a qualifying course in arts, was referred to the Faculty of Arts for report.

A cheque for £1000 was received from the trustees of the estate of the late Lucien Henry

as a bequest for research work in tuberculosis.

The following appointments were approved:

—Miss Freda Farram, M.A. (demonstrator in
psychology), Miss Muriel Holdsworth, M.Sc.
(demonstrator in organic chemistry), Dr.
Keith Barry (lecturer under the University
Extension Board).